You are here: Home / CLGBTQE / Awards


Each year the Commission on Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Equity (CLGBTQE) recognizes the contributions of individuals within the University community who have shown outstanding service regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) concerns. While there are many who work tirelessly throughout the academic year to assist the LGBTQ community, the Outstanding Service Award and Academic Achievement Award recognize individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the Penn State LGBTQ community. Current Penn State faculty, staff, and students are eligible for both awards. If you know of someone who is an active participant in improving the climate at Penn State, please consider submitting a nomination for one of these awards presented by CLGBTQE. Please visit clgbtqe/awards for details. Nominations are due by Friday, February 28, 2017. For more information, contact Amy Dupain Vashaw, chair of the Membership Committee and CLGBTQE past chair at

 Recipients selected for these awards will be honored at the CLGBTQE university-wide awards ceremony celebration to be held Thursday, April 6, 2017, from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in the Bennett Pierce Living Center (110 Henderson Building) on the University Park campus.


2017 Outstanding Service Award Nomination Form

Nomination Deadline: Friday, February 28, 2017

We seek nominations of individuals within the Universitycommunity who have shown outstanding service regarding LGBTQ concerns. The definition of service is open to interpretation, but all nominees should be active participants in improving the climate of diversity and inclusion for LGBTQ people at Penn State. Self-nominations are accepted.


2017 Academic Achievement Award

Nomination Deadline: Friday, February 28, 2016

We seek nominations of individuals within the University community who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the areas of research, teaching, and/or academic course work. Nominations should preferably acknowledge meritorious faculty, staff, and students whose academicachievements are LGBTQ-focused, but could also acknowledge the achievements of LGBTQ people in any area of research, teaching, and student scholastic engagement. Self-nominations are accepted.