Craig H. Neilson Foundation Scholarship

Available to all eligible students with a Spinal Cord Injury (SCI) who attend or plan to attend as an undergraduate or graduate student.

Currently accepting applications for Fall 2024

Craig H. Neilson Foundation Scholarship Application
Application deadline: Monday, March 25, 2024  by 5:00 p.m. EST

The scholarship can potentially provide funding for full in-state and out-of-state tuition and fees to support students with SCI for the duration of their degree program. In addition, supplemental support funds are also available and can include (but is not limited to) transportation, child care, personal care attendant services, adaptive equipment, books and/or assistive technology.

Eligibility criteria:

  • Undergraduate or graduate student
  • Individuals must have a neurological or functional impairment due to:
    • traumatic SCI
    • degenerative disease primary to the spinal cord (i.e. transverse myelitis)
    • damage to the spinal cord due to tumors and surgery

The total amount awarded varies by student.

Not eligible:

  • Individuals with:
    • spinal dysfunction
    • paralysis
    • pain syndrome caused by other disorders are NOT eligible (e.g., multiple sclerosis, ALS, Chiari malformation, primary orthopedic disorders and peripheral nerve injury)

Students with questions related to the Craig H. Neilsen Scholarship can contact Kimberly Barger at or call the office (814) 863-1807.